About

Critical Appraisal Tools (CATs)

Critical appraisal is a core step in systematic reviews. Critical appraisal tools (or checklists) are used to help students, professionals, and researchers assess the quality and trustworthiness of scientific research. Quality appraisal is key in judging if a study is trustworthy.

More than 500 tools exist to help perform quality appraisal. However, few of these tools have had been tested for validity and reliability.

The purpose of this website is to present the CATs that have been tested to asses their validaty and/or reliability.

About the contributors

Quan Nha Hong is a postdoctoral researcher at the Evidence for Policy and Practice Information and Co-ordinating Centre (EPPI-Centre) and the Institut national d’excellence en santé et en services sociaux (INESSS). She holds a postdoctoral fellowship from the Fonds de recherche du Québec – santé (FRQS). Also, she is an occupational therapist with research training in clinical sciences (MSc, Université de Sherbrooke), health technology assessment and management (MSc, Université de Montréal), and family medicine and primary care (PhD, McGill University). She is interested in systematic reviews, mixed methods research, quality appraisal, and health technology assessment.

Julien Bouix-Picasso is a doctoral candidate in a joint international PhD (cotutelle) in nursing (Université de Montréal – UdeM) and in public health at the Laboratoire Éducations et Pratiques en Santé (UR 3412, Université Sorbonne Paris Nord). He holds a doctoral scholarship from the French Military Health Service and the Research Chair in Innovative Nursing Practices (FSI, UdeM). He is a nurse anaesthetist at the École du Val-de-Grâce in Paris. He has clinical training in anaesthesia and burn critical care as well as in health pedagogy (M.P.H, Université Sorbonne Paris Nord). He is interested in knowledge synthesis, mixed methods, appropriation of technologies, patient learning, nursing interventions and advanced practice.

Christian Ruchon obtained his Master’s degree in Family Medicine at McGill University where he studied the occurrence of evidence reversal in randomized controlled trials relevant to primary care. He now works as a Knowledge Translation Coordinator with the Quebec SPOR SUPPORT Unit and is a Tannenbaum Fellow supporting residents’ quality improvement projects. Christian is passionate about research literacy, the stability of studies over time and evidence-based medicine.

CATevaluation is supported by the Canadian Institutes of Health Research (CIHR-IRSC), le Fonds de recherche du Québec – Santé (FRQS), and the Method Development Component of the Quebec SPOR Support Unit. The component aims to meet the needs of researchers, patients, clinicians and managers for advanced methods (methodological and technical approaches) for the planning, conduct and evaluation of patient-oriented research. The Method Development Component is located in the Department of Family Medicine at McGill University.

Keep up with CATs

We are monitoring critical appraisal tool literature using a collaborative web tool called eSRAP-DIY. This tool was developed for use by researchers working within the Quebec Strategy for Patient-Oriented Research (Stratégie de recherche axée sur le patient), who sought a way to collaboratively monitor new research in their field.

The eSRAP system allows you to monitor and filter (or identify) the latest most relevant scholarly publications on a given topic. Using a typical search strategy, this automated system monitors and retrieves new research abstracts as soon as they are added to a bibliographic database (e.g., Scopus, Pubmed). Using crowdsourcing, these abstracts are then rated by your peers for relevance and quality. More participation from active community members leads to less effort for each individual member. 

If you are interested in joining the collaboration community for this project, please email Quan Nha Hong at [email protected].

Accueil

Outils d’évaluation de la qualité (Critical Appraisal Tools (CATs))

L’évaluation de la qualité des études est une étape importante des revues systématiques. Des outils d’évaluation de la qualité (communément appelé Critical appraisal tools (CAT) en anglais) sont utilisés pour aider les étudiants, professionnels et chercheurs à juger si une étude est digne de confiance.

Plus de 500 outils existent pour aider à réaliser une évaluation de qualité. Toutefois, peu de ces outils ont été testés pour en vérifier la validité et la fidélité.

Le but de cet site web est de présenter des CATs dont la validité et/ou fidélité ont été testés.

À propos des contributeurs

Quan Nha Hong est stagiaire postdoctorale au Evidence for Policy and Practice Information and Co-ordinating Centre (EPPI-Centre) et à l’Institut national d’excellence en santé et en services sociaux (INESSS) et boursière du Fonds de recherche du Québec- Santé (FRQS). Elle est ergothérapeute de formation et possède des formations en recherche sur les sciences cliniques (M.Sc. Université de Sherbrooke), évaluation et gestion des technologies de la santé (M.Sc., Université de Montréal) et médecine de famille et soins de santé primaires (Ph.D., Université McGill). Elle s’intéresse aux revues systématiques, méthodes de synthèse, méthodes mixtes et évaluation de la qualité méthodologique des études.

Julien Bouix-Picasso est doctorant en cotutelle internationale en sciences infirmières (Université de Montréal – UdeM) et en santé publique au Laboratoire Éducations et Pratiques en Santé (UR 3412, Université Sorbonne Paris Nord). Boursier du Service de santé des armées et de la Chaire de recherche sur les nouvelles pratiques de soins infirmier (FSI, UdeM), il est infirmier anesthésiste, affecté à l’Ecole du Val-de-Grâce à Paris. Il possède une formation clinique en anesthésie et brulologie ainsi qu’en ingénierie des formations en santé (M.P.H, Université de Sorbonne Paris Nord). Dans ses travaux, il s’intéresse aux synthèses de connaissances, aux méthodes mixtes, à l’appropriation des technologies et apprentissage des patients, ainsi qu’aux interventions infirmières et à la pratique avancée.

Christian Ruchon a obtenu sa maîtrise en médecine de famille à l’Université McGill où il a étudié le phénomène de renversement des preuves dans des essais contrôlés randomisés relatifs aux soins primaires. Il travaille maintenant comme coordonateur de l’application des connaissances au sein de l’unité de soutien SRAP du Québec et est un fellow Tannenbaum qui soutient les projets d’amélioration de la qualité des résidents. Christian est passionné par la littératie en recherche, la stabilité des études à travers le temps et la médecine fondée sur les données probantes. 

CATevaluation est possible grâce à des fonds provenant des Instituts de recherche en santé du Canada (IRSC), le Fonds de recherche du Québec – Santé (FRQS), et la Composante développements méthologiques de l‘Unité de SOUTIEN SRAP-Québec. Cette composante vise à répondre aux besoins des chercheurs, des patients, des cliniciens et des gestionnaires en matière de méthodes avancées (approches méthodologiques et techniques) pour la planification, la réalisation et l’évaluation de la recherche axée sur le patient. La composante de développement de méthodes est située au département de médecine de famille de l’Université McGill.

Se maintenir à jour sur les CATs

Nous surveillons régulièrement la littérature sur les outils d’évaluation de la qualité en utilisant un outil web collaboratif appelé eSRAP-DIY. Cet outil a été développé pour des chercheurs travaillant dans le cadre de la Stratégie de recherche axée sur le patient (SRAP) du Québec, qui cherchaient un moyen de suivre en collaboration les nouvelles recherches dans leur domaine.

Le système eSRAP vous permet de surveiller et de filtrer les dernières publications scientifiques pertinentes sur un sujet donné. En utilisant une stratégie de recherche, ce système automatisé surveille et récupère les nouveaux résumés de recherche dès qu’ils sont ajoutés à une base de données bibliographiques (par exemple, Scopus et PubMed). Grâce à une production participative (crowdsourcing), ces résumés sont ensuite évalués par les membres de la communauté pour identifier les publications pertinentes. Une plus grande participation des membres de la communauté permet de réduire l’effort de chaque membre.

Si vous êtes intéressés à joindre la communauté de ce projet, veuillez envoyer un courriel à Quan Nha Hong ([email protected]).